top of page

Youtube lessons and revision help for students

I started my youtube site #cricksbiology during the first lockdown. It was very much a project in progress as I had not got a clue what I was doing at the beginning, and I still have much to learn. Luckily my daughter was on hand and she had plenty of time on her hands to help, as, being in the U6, she had just had her exams cancelled. At the beginning I tried just talking to the camera whilst using a presentation, but then I started to experiment. I started to have all sorts of fun - I even did a lesson on quadrats for my GCSE students - mapping out an area to investigate the number of dandelion plants in an area nad looking at biodiversity. I then discovered other technology to help me, including 'Explain Everything' #explaineverything and 'Doodly' #doodly - I really do not know what I would do without these. I have tried full on lessons, explanation videos and revision videos. I have tried with and without music and would appreciate help from followers to tell me which they prefer. Ideally I would like to end up with a full set of GCSE and A-level videos so that biology pupils are helped on any examination topic...... but it takes time. I will continue to experiment and see what happens ... let's wait and see what technology I try next, but if anybody has any suggestions, I am all ears. I have thought of trying green screen over presentations, so maybe that is the next set of videos I do.




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page