top of page

Using Virtual Labs in Biology

.

During this time of Covid teaching and learning has been challenging to say the least. I have tried as many ways as I can to make lessons interesting and fun. Break out rooms hasve been useful to break up the lesson so students can go off and work in groupd, but can still ask for my help and I can just pop into the rooms and help out where and when necessary. Then at the end of the lesson we can reconvene and discuss what has been learnt. One of the things I like to do using break out rooms is exploring using virtual labs. I have just finished teaching transpiration to my Year 10s and as a final activity they used a virtual potometer lab exploring transpiration of plants in different environmental conditions: normal room conditions, with a heater, with a lamp and finally with a fan to represent wind. There is a results table to write results into and print off or results can be written the directly into exercise books, then these can be used to draw graphs. There is video on my youtube page showing what the website is like. The link to the virtual lab if you would like to try it out is:

The link to my video explaining transpiraton and potometers is:

And the link to my video demonstrating the lab is:






16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page